Black-eyed pea salsa

IMG_1250

Apologies for the two-week lull, but I promise to make it up to you with a fantastic salsa recipe. I made a ton of this stuff in anticipation for the next week’s All Sarahs, All the Time marathon. Both of the Sarahs and I can put away large quantities of chips and salsa like it’s nobody’s business…come to think of it, I should have made more, seeing as how SS Norman is eating for two these days.

So, yes, my beloved Sarahs—the three of us are best friends from college—are making the trek out to Seattle for a few days next week, and I am antsy with anticipation. I just had to keep myself busy this beautiful Saturday afternoon, so I mixed this recipe (from now-defunct Cottage Living) with this recipe (technically pico de gallo, via the Homesick Texan), and voilà: the best of both worlds. The tomatoes are roasted in the oven, lending a sweet flavor, and black-eyed peas add great texture. (Plus, that’s what qualifies it as Southern.) The pico de gallo recipe is actually my favorite salsa recipe; I prefer very fresh, chunky salsa (à la Salsa Y’all) to most of the stuff out here, which I consider doctored-up tomato sauce.

IMG_1206

Black-eyed pea and roasted tomato salsa

*adapted from this recipe and this one. Makes about half to three-quarters of a big yogurt container, which apparently is how I measure things.

1 1/2 cup black-eyed peas (either frozen or canned…or fresh!)
5 tomatoes
1 small-ish white onion
1 large clove of garlic
1 jalapeno pepper
1 serrano pepper (you can use just jalapenos, or whatever combination you want)
2 limes
1 bunch cilantro
salt

IMG_1214

First, prepare the black-eyed peas. I couldn’t find canned BEPs here, so I got the frozen kind. Prepare according to the directions, then drain and set aside in a large mixing bowl.

Cut the tomatoes in half. On a cookie sheet lined with tin foil, set the tomatoes cut-side up. Set the oven to broil, and put the tomatoes in so that they’re 3-4 inches from the heat. After 6 minutes or so, flip them over, cut-side down. Leave them for 6 more minutes, or until they look blistered.

IMG_1228

Let the tomatoes cool while you chop up the onion, garlic, peppers (make sure to remove the ribs and seeds), and cilantro; put everything in the bowl with the black-eyed peas. Cut the limes in half and squeeze the juice into the bowl.

IMG_1235

When the tomatoes have cooled enough to touch, roughly chop and then put them in the bowl with everything else. They’ll be squishy and juicy, but put it all in. Add salt to taste.

IMG_1278

Delish. Now all I need is a big bag of hint-of-lime Tostitos, a cold Corona, and the Sarahs.

Leave a Reply

