Black-eyed pea cakes

IMG_9432

Yummmmmm. That’s all I have to say about this.

Well, not all I have to say. I don’t know why, but I wasn’t too sure about making this recipe—but I needed to eat up the black-eyed peas in my freezer before I move this weekend. I wanted to make something interesting with them rather than eat them plain, so I searched myrecipes.com (it’s a Southern Progress website with recipes catalogued from former employer Southern Living, Coastal Living, now-defunct Cottage Living, Cooking Light, and others) and came up with this. I made a few changes, and might even do it differently next time with some chopped red pepper and onion.

Anyway, these were much better than I thought they would be; they smell remarkably like hush puppies when they’re cooking, and the addition of spicy, creamy sauce made it even better.

I’m glad I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago instead of this week, what with the unbelievable, unprecedented heat wave that the Pacific Northwest is experiencing right now. I don’t even want to think about turning on the stove or oven. Imagine how hot it feels in Atlanta when it’s 100º outside…now imagine that you can’t take refuge in your air-conditioned house BECAUSE NOTHING HAS AIR-CONDITIONING OUT HERE. Thank goodness I bought a big box fan last weekend before there was a run on them this week. Foresight, people.

On to the main event. Blurry black-eyed peas.

IMG_9393

Black-eyed pea cakes

*adapted from Cooking Light. Makes four 3-inch cakes.

1 can black-eyed peas, or the frozen equivalent of one can
1/4 cup dry breadcrumbs—I ended up adding almost another 1/4 cup, as the mixture was too wet
1 tsp. finely chopped onion (I used some green onion that I had left over from something else)
1/2 tsp. bottled minced garlic
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 large egg white, lightly beaten (I put this and the egg in the same mug to beat)
1 1/2 tsp olive oil
*I also added red pepper flakes

Mash the black-eyed peas in a bowl with a fork.

IMG_9395

Stir in the rest of the ingredients, except the oil. Score the mixture into four parts, and form each part into a patty. (It’s not going to look like the prettiest thing, so I’m sorry about that.)

IMG_9405

Oil a skillet and place the patties in it once it’s hot. They cook relatively quickly—a few minutes on each side, or until they get some nice brown color. Drain on a paper towel.

IMG_9415

I felt like the BEP cakes were lacking something, so I whipped up a mayo/yogurt sauce to put on top.

IMG_9437

I combined a spoonful of mayonnaise with a spoonful of yogurt in a mug (I prefer mugs to bowls), then stirred in some cayenne, chili powder, salt, and a little cumin, adjusting the seasoning to taste. Then I put a dollop of the mixture on the BEP cakes, added a little fresh salsa, and chowed down.

IMG_9424

On anther note, my grandmother Winnie mailed me about 10 of her recipes, hand-written on recipe cards. I’m excited about cooking some of her best dishes, so check back soon for the first of those! Also, I’m moving this weekend, and thus will not have the use of many a wonderful (and helpful) kitchen appliance for quite awhile. Hopefully I’ll churn out something in the next couple of weeks worth writing about.

2 thoughts on “Black-eyed pea cakes

  1. OMG this were good! I stumbled upon your website, and since I love black eyed peas, could not wait to make these cakes. They were scrumptious. My husband’s only complaint: that I didn’t double the recipe so he could pig out on them. The remoulade did help kick these over the edge. Thanks so much for sharing this. I can’t wait to make more of your delectable looking dishes, next up will be your black eyed pea salsa.

Leave a Reply

