Blackberry cobbler

IMG_9562

So. For my next recipe, I originally planned to make a peach cobbler, because the peaches are really good right now out here. But in the spirit of working with what you have, I decided to make blackberry cobbler with the bounty of blackberries I picked a couple of weeks ago with Emma Beth and Amber.

I looked around online for a good recipe, and then remembered that one of my favorite things my grandmother used to make was blackberry cobbler. I honestly don’t think I’d eaten blackberry cobbler since I was a kid, at Mema and Papa’s house in Swainsboro, and I certainly wasn’t expecting the rush of memory when I tasted the first forkful of my own attempt. It tasted exactly like Swainsboro.


Exactly like their kitchen; exactly like hot, muggy summer days running around in their yard, a sprinkler our only relief; exactly like Mema shooing us out of the kitchen while she was cooking; exactly like snapping beans with Papa in the yard; exactly like chasing overambitious tennis balls into the woods; exactly like stepping in fire ants and having to take a Clorox bath; exactly like the dripping slices of watermelon we feasted on; exactly like the little cans of grapefruit juice I loved…exactly like Swainsboro in the summer time.

And the recipe, when I called my mom to get it, is exactly inexact. I probably could have used a cup or so more blackberries, but it turned out OK. With this one, it didn’t really matter. Add a scoop of vanilla ice cream, or—if you want to go the old-fashioned route—just pour some cold milk in your bowl.

IMG_9563

Mema’s blackberry cobbler

blackberries (4 or 5 cups is probably a good amount)
sugar (I ended up using maybe 1/2 or 3/4 cup)
water

2 pie crusts (either the Pillsbury kind, or make your own)

IMG_9616 I just realized this, but the spoon in this picture is one from my grandparents’ kitchen in Swainsboro.

Mix the blackberries, sugar, and a little bit of water in a pot, and turn on the heat to medium (or high, I don’t really remember!). If you’re making your own pie crusts, you can do it at this point.

IMG_9617 Pie crust dough! It’s easier than you think. And immensely satisfying to make.

IMG_9634

When the mixture has boiled and bubbled for 15 minutes or so, pour it into a greased Pyrex baking dish. Don’t worry if it’s watery; it will reduce beautifully into a syrupy mess in the oven. Lay one of the pie crusts on top, and sprinkle with sugar. Bake at 350º or so (sorry for the vagueness) until the crust is brownish.

IMG_9627

Take the dish out of the oven—don’t turn it off, though!—and, carefully, with a spoon, push the crust down into the hot blackberry mixture beneath it. Just smush it down. Then, take the second pie crust and lay it on top; sprinkle with sugar. Bake it until the top crust is nice and brown, which will be much longer than you’d like for it to be. (Probably 30 to 45 minutes or so.)

IMG_9638

Fill yourself a bowl, and add ice cream or milk for best results.

IMG_9642

A note: I’d like to give a shout-out to my grandfather, who, at the age of 91, not only emails me, but reads my blog!

Also, I’ve decided to conduct a search for the best barbecue in Seattle. I commenced the search on Friday (sadly, sans camera) and will post the results soon…any input on what the criteria should be?

And some kind words (finally) from the national press about the Bulldogs, including these tidbits:

A quick note to those Oklahoma State fans (Mr. Pickens) eagerly anticipating an O.S.U. victory when the Bulldogs come to Stillwater on Sept. 5: Georgia is 34-1 in regular season non-conference action under Mark Richt (since 2001). The Bulldogs are 30-4 on the road over this same span, including 10-2 against ranked opposition.

Let’s not allow last season’s disappointment to tarnish what Richt has accomplished with the Bulldogs; the fact that a 10-3 finish can be construed as a disappointment should be reason enough to understand just what heights Richt has taken the Georgia program.

There has been no down point for the Bulldogs since Richt took over, though one could point out the 9-4 mark in 2006 as a brief lull for the Georgia program. You’re doing pretty well when a 9-4 record, with a .500 mark in the SEC, signals the lowest point of your tenure. Only five SEC coaches have won 10 games or more in four straight seasons: Richt (2002-5), Bear Bryant (1971-74, 1977-80), Vince Dooley (1980-83), Phil Fulmer (1995-98) and Steve Spurrier (1993-98). How about that list? And while the Yellow Jackets got the better of Georgia last fall, Richt remains 7-1 against the program’s arch-rival; the Dawgs have held the Yellow Jackets to 17 points or fewer in each of those seven victories.

For all his talent (which was immense), I’m not too concerned about how Georgia plans to replace Moreno in the backfield. This is due to the talented stable of backs the Bulldogs have accumulated over the past two seasons, leaving the team with as many as five backs in the competition to grab the open starting role.

No one really believes the program’s window has closed, but it seems to me that most are counting Georgia out of the hunt for the SEC crown and a B.C.S. bowl bid. Why? If Richt has shown anything, it’s that his teams will surprise, and will play its best when the underdog. Remember 2002? 2003? 2007? Playing without a bull’s-eye on their back, these Bulldogs played loose, free and with confidence, knowing that despite being discounted they had the talent and the coaching to play with anyone. I feel this year’s team will play in that same vein; despite the loss of talent – on paper – and the thought that Georgia will take a step backwards, I think this team can and will challenge Florida for the SEC East crown.

4 thoughts on “Blackberry cobbler

  1. Lizzie-
    Thanks for making me smile with tears streaming down my face! I remember all those things about Swainsboro- warm fuzzies!
    Thanks for the recipes and good memories!
    Love you!!! Go DAWGS!

  2. I have tried just about every blackberry cobbler recipe out there and none of them are as good as Mema’s. Sometimes (most of the time) simple is better. Loved reading the trip down memory lane. I love you!
    Aunt Mary

  3. Lizzie,
    You have done it again – made me laugh and cry at the same time!! I’m so thankful you have such vivid memories of wonderful times at MeMa and PaPa’s – thank you for sharing with all of us.
    I love you,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

