Kalamata olive hummus

IMG_0347

I don’t really have a nice story to go along with this recipe; the only thing interesting about it is that I’ve been making at least a batch of this hummus every week since June, and I’m just now getting around to posting it on here.

To be fair, it’s neither Southern nor the most…um, photogenic of foods.

IMG_0054

One thing to keep in mind when making this recipe…it’s almost always cheaper to get olives from the “olive bar” in the deli section of the grocery store (I put that in quotes because I don’t like referring to it as the olive bar, but don’t have a better, wittier name) than to buy a jar of them. I don’t know why, but it is. Just a word to the wise.

IMG_0059

Another word to the wise: Seattle is absolutely beautiful in the fall.

IMG_0144

Kalamata Olive Hummus

*from this recipe. Makes enough to fill about 1/2 to 3/4 of a big yogurt container.

1 15-0z. can of chickpeas, drained
1/2 to 3/4 cup kalamata olives, pitted (I usually use the max 3/4 cup…sometimes more!)
2 garlic cloves, peeled
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cumin (as you’ll notice, mine is more of a heaping teaspoon—I love cumin)
dash of cayenne (more like 1/4 teaspoon or so in my case)
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 cup water
6 tablespoons tahini (sesame paste; you can usually find it with the peanut butter)
2 tablespoons olive oil

IMG_0068

Put first six ingredients (through the cayenne pepper) in a food processor, and process it until almost fully ground. Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

IMG_0078

First it looks like this…

IMG_0084

…then it looks like this. I told you, it’s not very photogenic.

Mix the lemon juice and water together in a bowl, and, with the processor running, stream the lemon juice/water mixture in.

IMG_0089

Whisk together the tahini and olive oil in a bowl, perhaps the same one you used for the lemon juice and water. With the processor running, stream that mixture in.

IMG_0096

Scrape down the sides of the bowl, and then process the hummus for another minute or so.

IMG_0101

IMG_0351

After a lot of highly scientific testing, I’ve decided I’m partial to eating the hummus with cucumbers instead of carrots. It’s also really good with pita (naturally), and as the base of a bagel sandwich—just add sliced cukes, some cheese, and sprouts. Yummmm. Not quite the hearty fare I’m craving now that fall (i.e. rain and clouds) has descended upon Seattle, but still delicious.

IMG_0356

This weekend I’m celebrating my one year anniversary of moving to Seattle! Yay! I can’t believe it’s been a year, but it’s been a great one. This post would not have been possible without the purchase of two new toys—my new food processor (!) and new camera! My old workhorse Canon finally bit the dust after five long, arduous years of recording moments in no less than 3 continents, 17 countries, and 13 states.

One last thing…next month, I’m doing this race, and have to raise $50. If you’d like to contribute a few dollars, drop me a line!

2 thoughts on “Kalamata olive hummus

  1. Pingback: Olive dip | Pimento Cheese, Please.

Leave a Reply

