German chocolate pie

Happy New Year, y’all!

I have been watching football all. day. long. My brain is turning to mush, so much so that I’m contemplating rooting for Florida to beat Cincy in the Sugar Bowl. What’s wrong with me?! Maybe it’s the joy that Tebow Fatigue will soon be over for good.

So, as I’m sure you’ve noticed by now, it’s been about two and a half months since the last post…and I have no good excuse, unless you count me being too dadgum lazy to cook/photograph anything I’ve cooked/sat down to write something/edit photos/you get the idea. Oh, and the holidays! Um…and also the fact that the sun sets approximately 10 minutes after it rises in Seattle in the winter months, which isn’t conducive to photographing food. Hmm, that’s a good one. I’ll stick with that excuse.

The thing is, I’ve cooked a whole lot of stuff in the past few months—really good stuff, some of it of the Southern persuasion. I made spaghetti and meatballs for the first time in my life (and they were deeelish!); homemade macaroni and cheese; monkey bread; tamale pie; chili; taco soup; the treasure trove; a really great Ina Garten chicken recipe; more cheese straws; a couple of really good salads; various dips, spreads, and salsas; multiple bowls of cheese grits; spinach-stuffed tomatoes; an omelet with goat cheese and arugula; and lots of other stuff. But sadly, no photographic evidence!

I had some pretty grand plans of whipping up a lot of the traditional holiday favorites that grace my family’s table a couple of times a year, but, alas, it didn’t happen. Instead, I had to settle for consuming mass quantities of said favorites, prepared by my mom (and aunts and uncles in some cases!), and photographing her efforts. (I can’t not mention Aunt Mary’s terrific oyster dressing on Christmas Eve! SO. GOOD. And my mom’s sweet potato souffle. And Aunt Martha’s cream cheese and olive spread. And Papa’s bloody marys at Thanksgiving. And the sour cream rolls. OK, I’ll stop.)

New Year’s resolution: actually cook things and put them on this blog. I need to get it together.

So, to stat the year off right, I’m going to share with y’all my grandmother Winnie’s German chocolate pie recipe. I made it back in August or September, but for some reason just haven’t gotten around to posting it yet. This pie is one of the few things I’ll save room for at a big holiday meal—it trumps pecan pie for that sacred spot. I think it has something to do with all of the butter and chocolate. Winning combination, those two.

German chocolate pie

*be warned: THIS RECIPE MAKES TWO PIES. Count ’em—one, two. I made the mistake of not reading all the way through the recipe before I started, and was very thankful that Pillsbury sells their refrigerated pie crusts in pairs.

two sticks butter
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
2 cups sugar
4 eggs, beaten
1 cup coconut (it’s in the freezer section at the store, with the frozen fruit and other ice cream toppings. Confusing, I know. I wandered around Safeway for a good half hour before I worked up the courage to ask someone where it was.)
1 cup chopped nuts (I used pecans, naturally)
two pie crusts (just get the refrigerated kind if you’re lazy like me. To think I used to make my own pie crusts. And by “I used to make,” I mean, “one time I made.”)

Melt the butter and chocolate together in a pot.

Measure out all of your other ingredients and then add them to the butter/chocolate mixture.

Mmmm…pecans!

Pour the mixture into the two pie crusts, and bake at 350º for 30 minutes.

Make sure to give your roommate the mixing bowl to lick after you put the pies in the oven.

The pies are best enjoyed with friends! And they freeze really well, too.

Yummmmmm

One more…

EB & LB love my home cookin’! Haha.

I’ll be back soon with another recipe! Happy 2010!

One thought on “German chocolate pie

Leave a Reply

