Roasted chickpeas


So…it’s been, what, two months since my last post? I refuse to apologize—these last couple of months have been two of the busiest in recent memory. Not only did my siblings and I (with the help of several key players) pull off a fantastic surprise birthday party for my parents at the end of January, but things at work have been about 83492107 times more crazy than they’ve ever been. (See the end of this post for a few photos from the party!) For some reason I thought that things would slow down after Christmas but it’s been the opposite.

Meanwhile, I’ve gotten into a bad habit of cooking the same thing most nights for dinner: roasted chickpeas. I’m telling you, these things are hard to beat. They’re crunchy and spicy and delicious, not to mention filling. Lots of protein + lots of fiber + very tasty? Yes, please.

It’s a really easy recipe—just a few steps. And it’s mostly stuff you’ve already got on hand. I’ll be back soon with another post…I finally attempted Mema’s pound cake recipe, with mixed results. More on that later.

Roasted chickpeas

*adapted, kinda sorta, from this recipe. Makes about a mugful. (Mug-ful? Mug full?)

1 15-oz. can garbanzo beans/chickpeas/whatever you want to call them
olive oil
spices (I use cayenne pepper, chili powder, cumin, and salt; you can really use whatever you’ve got)

My spice arsenal.

Drain and rinse the chickpeas. Preheat the oven to 400º.

Check out that action shot! Ohhhhh yeah.

Pat the chickpeas dry with a paper towel. When they’re dried off, put them on a cookie sheet that you’ve lined with tinfoil.

Pour a couple of glurgs of olive oil over the chickpeas, and use your hands to make sure they’re all coated. Then take whatever spices you’re using and sprinkle over the chickpeas. (The first couple of batches I was a little heavy-handed with the cayenne, but I’ve perfected the ratio now. That’s not to say that I know how much I actually use, though. Of course not.)

About to be roasted into little bits of spicy deliciousness.

Put the cookie sheet in the oven and roast for 30-45 minutes. I like mine a little crunchier, so I usually opt for the full 45 minutes. Shake the cookie sheet every 10 minutes or so to ensure that the spices don’t burn and that they’re all evenly roasted.

And this is what your fingers look like after you’ve finished eating them:

Finger lickin’ good.

OK, now for some pictures from the party we gave for my parents…

Yeah…they were really surprised. My dad had this exact look on his face for a good 10 minutes.

One of the only semi-good photos of the six of us.

Mom with two of my partners in crime.

Group hug! Yeah, I don’t think anyone was feeling any pain at this point.

Mom and Dad with Rob and Patti, two of my other co-conspirators.

That’s it…if I put one more up, I’ll have to put all of them up. Just know that it was a fantastic party!

2 thoughts on “Roasted chickpeas

Leave a Reply

