Chocolate chip scones

If there is a food that fully encapsulates the second semester of my sophomore year at Georgia, it is a scone. More specifically, a chocolate chip scone from Jittery Joe’s.

My good friend Kirsten and I had two back-to-back classes together every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday; one class was in lower PJ (I never thought the day would come where I had to hesitate to recall the name of that room), and the second was in the SLC. So we’d walk from PJ to the SLC, and well, well, well…what do you know, but we just happened to walk past the Jittery Joe’s in the SLC. Might as well get some refreshments before advertising class! Hmm, a mocha Frosty Joe and a chocolate chip scone sure would hit the spot.

And so it went. Three days a week. How I didn’t end that year struggling to waddle my scone-filled self around campus, I’ll never know. Anyway, that semester was great for mine and Kirsten’s friendship, and despite the multiple group projects, I learned a lot in both classes. I’m sure the scones and Frosty Joes had something to do with it. And to this day, a good scone is one of my very favorite things.

So yeah, I woke up one Saturday morning recently and was craving a scone…but instead of going to the store or a bakery to get one, I figured I’d give baking them a whirl. I looked up this recipe on Smitten Kitten (she of haven’t-failed-me-yet-nor-disappointed-me-in-the-least-bit recipes), and not only did it require fewer ingredients than any other recipe I found, but it seemed pretty simple. And it was!

Feel free to substitute anything (chocolate chips, in my case) for the currants that the original recipe calls for. These would also be really good with dried sweetened cherries, or anything you’ve got lying around the kitchen, come to think of it.

And as a final note, these scones taste best when you make them while listening to Jill Andrews’ s/t EP. Seriously. SO GOOD. Just the thing to get me geared up for addressing my brother and Sara’s wedding invitations!

Chocolate chip scones

*adapted (just a tiny bit) from this recipe. Makes 8 scones.

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp. baking powder
3 Tbsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
5 Tbsp. chilled, unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
1/2 cup chocolate chips (I threw some extra in, so it was more like a cup. What can I say, I was feeling extravagant.)
1 cup heavy cream

Preheat oven to 425º. Put the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt in a food processor and pulse six times to combine.

First the baking powder goes in…

…then the sugar…

…then the salt. I know, this is getting repetitive. I’ll stop now.

Put the butter in the food processor with the flour mixture, and pulse 12 times to combine, with each pulse lasting 1 second.

Add the chocolate chips—or whatever you’re adding—into the food processor, and pulse once or twice to combine.

Transfer the mixture into a big mixing bowl. Add the heavy cream, and stir it in with a rubber spatula until it becomes dough-like.

Take the dough and the rest of the dry, floury bits in the bowl and dump it out onto the counter.

Knead the dough a few times until you can make it into a ball.

You can do the rest of this a couple of different ways. You can pat the dough ball into a circle (about 3/4 -inches thick) and cut out the scones with a biscuit cutter. I don’t have a biscuit cutter, so I just patted it into a circle and cut the circle into 8 wedges. It worked fine, and I think I actually like scones of the wedge variety better than the round ones. I just decided that, completely arbitrarily.

Put the wedges (or circles) onto an ungreased cookie sheet, and bake for 12 to 15 minutes—the scones will be light brown on top when they’re done.

Cool for 10ish minutes, and then eat one for breakfast…and then another one for lunch.


One thought on “Chocolate chip scones

  1. I love scones of the wedge variety best too… just something about those little corners that can’t be beat! Hope we are munching scones together soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

