Deviled eggs

So. I know that most things I make and post about on here are accompanied with me waxing poetic about how it’s one of my very favorite things to eat in the world, ever. But. Deviled eggs really are one of my very favorite things to eat in the world, ever. Any member of my family can back me up on this. My love affair with deviled eggs spans just about my entire life, or at least the part of my life that I’ve been able to eat solid food. I. LOVE. THEM. I can easily eat half a dozen of them in one go. Really.

And, in honor of Easter (which is when I made these), I present a deviled eggs recipe…which isn’t much of a recipe at all. More of a guideline.

The key here is using Durkee’s; technically, it’s called Durkee, but my mom always called it Durkee’s, so that’s what I call it. I tried to say “Durkee,” and it just felt wrong.

For the uninitiated, this is Durkee’s.

Also key is sweet pickle relish. No celery or any of that. Just sweet pickle relish. And I really prefer the filling to be of the chunky variety, not the smooth kind that looks more sophisticated. After eating chunky deviled eggs my entire life, the smooth texture just feels wrong. Kind of like saying “Durkee.” In my opinion, deviled eggs are not some high-falutin’ hors d’oeuvres; the filling in the deviled eggs at Dooly Campground was most definitely NOT piped in. Although I think I would allow the eggs to be topped with a single salty, briny caper. Yummmm. I’ll file that away for next time.

Deviled eggs

eggs
mayonnaise (Hellman’s, please—even though I used some strange organic garlic mayonnaise that was probably an impulse buy at Whole Foods)
Durkee’s
mustard
sweet pickle relish (not cubes)
salt and pepper

Boil the eggs.  I use this handy-dandy guideline, and it is perfect. The eggs are perfectly hard boiled, and are easy to peel.

Put the eggs in a saucepan. Fill it up with water so that the eggs are covered by about an inch of water.

Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, and then turn off the stove, cover the pot with a lid, and don’t touch the pot for 12 minutes.

After 12 minutes, rinse the eggs off with cold water until they’re cool enough to peel.

Feel free to crack open one of these babies during the aforementioned 12 minutes like I did.

Peel the eggs. I know it’s a waste of water, but it’s much easier if you peel them under running water in the sink.

Dry the eggs off with a paper towel. Cut each egg in half, and gently scrape out the yolk from each half. Put the yolks (perfectly yellow!) into a bowl.

Add a spoonful each of mayo, Durkee’s, sweet pickle relish, and mustard. Depending on how many yolks you’ve got in the bowl, adjust the amounts. Remember, you can always add more but you can’t take out a big ol’ spoonful of Durkee’s once it’s mixed in! Add salt and pepper to taste. And, if you’re like me, add a healthy dash of cayenne pepper. Just ’cause.

With a teaspoon, fill the eggs back up with the yolk mixture.

Resist eating half of them until you take pictures of them.

Then eat half of them.

I have to put in a plug for Spilling Hope, a very cool thing going on at my church right now. The Spilling Hope 50 Day Challenge kicked off on Easter and goes through May 23, and the idea is to be challenged to live simply in order to give generously. Think about ways to simplify our lives (give up a daily coffee from Starbucks, walk to the grocery store, host a potluck dinner instead of going to a restaurant, bike to work, etc.) so that we can give not just out of our abundance. ALL of the money given to Spilling Hope goes to build wells for communities in southern Uganda; through Spilling Hope’s partnership with Living Water International, our church community gave enough last year to build 13 new wells. You can see the awesome videos that my co-worker Andrea made here and here. Let me know if you’d like to get involved!

One thought on “Deviled eggs

Leave a Reply

